Congrats to Our Volunteer Award Winners!

By: Pamela Schroeder, DI Board of Trustees Chair

From its very beginning, Destination Imagination has been a community for those who believe in the importance of creativity, teamwork, volunteerism and sportsmanship. This year, we awarded the Spirit of DI and DIamond Awards.

Spirit of DI Award: This award honors those who demonstrate outstanding and extraordinary levels of spirit, those whose sacrifices are not for themselves but for others. This year’s recipients are:

  • Jim Hanna, Nebraska
  • Craig Richardson, New Hampshire
  • Kenan Sener, Georgia
  • Annette Rogers, Georgia
  • Joan Turek, Louisiana
  • Amanda Connors, Ohio
  • Gayle Bragg, Maryland
  • Barb Besal, Virginia
  • Lois Spencer, Virginia
  • Kathy O’Holleran, Illinois
  • Susan LaFlame, Massachusetts
  • Chamkaur Cheema, British Columbia

DIamond Award:
 The Diamond Award is the highest award for volunteerism that we bestow on individuals within the organization who, through extraordinary effort and generosity of time and talent, created or contributed to some critical facet of the organization, usually behind-the-scenes and without fanfare. This year’s Diamond Award winners are:

  • Brownie Mitchell
  • Roger Garriock
  • Sheila Swanson

Thank you to all of our amazing volunteers worldwide who give back to students each year with Destination Imagination! To view a list of our past award recipients, click here.