Congrats to our 2019 Volunteer Award Winners!

Congrats to our 2019 Volunteer Award Winners!

From its very beginning, Destination Imagination (DI) has been a community for those who believe in the importance of creativity, teamwork, volunteerism and sportsmanship. This year, we awarded the Spirit of DI and Diamond Awards.

Spirit of DI Award: This award honors those who demonstrate outstanding and extraordinary levels of spirit, those whose sacrifices are not for themselves but for others. This year’s recipients are:

Brant Wood – Michigan
Eric Dahl – Georgia
Jim Schettler – California
Gary Gaitlin (posthumously) – Illinois
Steve Donley – Texas
Pasquale DiLego – Vermont

Diamond Award: The Diamond Award is the highest award for volunteerism that we bestow on individuals within the organization who, through extraordinary effort and generosity of time and talent, created or contributed to some critical facet of the organization, usually behind-the-scenes and without fanfare. This year’s Diamond Award winners are:

Karen Anderson – Oregon
David Thomason – Alabama
Steve Greenwood – New Hampshire
Johannah Nikula – Massachusetts
Dan Henderson – Maryland
Debi Tipton – Colorado
Connie Ackerman – Colorado

Congratulations and huge thanks to all of our amazing volunteers worldwide who give back to students each year with DI! To view a list of our past award recipients, click here.